Trek around Mt. Dhaulagiri

Dream Wanderlust recently ventured on a trekking expedition around Mt. Dhaulagiri in Nepal on 2nd October, 2014. The team started the trek from Beni village, Nepal and ended at the village of Marpha via French col, Hidden Valley and Thapa Pass. The team is proud to announce that the trek was quite successful and all members reached safely at Pokra on 13th October, surviving the sudden avalanche breakdown in Nepal by a whisker.

Mt. Dhaulagiri (8,167 m), Nepal is the 7th highest peak of the world and one of the most toughest peaks to climb. The Dhaulagiri massif is enclosed by two rivers, Myagdi in the west and the Kaligandaki in the east. The Myagdi river originates from the Chorbardan glacier located at the west side of the Dhaulagiri - I base camp and flows through the Myagdi valley which have been of great interest among trekkers and mountaineers. On the eastern side, the Kaligandaki River is said to be the world's deepest river gorge flows between two eight thousands' peaks, Mt. Annapurna and Mt. Dhaulagiri. One has to cross the French Pass (5,360m) and Thapa Pass (5,250 m) to trek around the Dhaulagiri Massif. The location of these two passes is quite attractive to the trekkers as the connecting ridge divides the restricted Dolpo region from the Dhaulagiri region. A barren valley is called Hidden valley (16,500 ft) is located at the gap between French Pass and Thapa Pass is another point of interest for trekker.

Trail and Camps:
Drive to Darbang from Pokhara via Beni. Trek starts from the village Takam and ends at the village Marpha.
Darbang(4th oct, 2014)- Beni - Takam - Muri(1st camp 5th oct, 2014) - Boghara (2nd camp 5th oct, 2014)- Dovan(3rd camp 6th oct, 2014) - Salaghari(4th camp 7th oct, 2014) - Italian Camp (5th camp 8th oct, 2014)- French Camp (6th camp 9th oct, 2014)- Dhaulagiri Base Camp(7th camp 10th oct, 2014) - French Pass - Hidden Valley (8th camp 12th oct, 2014)- Thapa Pass - Yak Kharka - Marpha(13th oct, 2014) - Beni

Team: Avijit Sur, Rahul Chakraborty, Nilanjan Patra, Pritam Das Sharma, Supratim Mukherjee, Manojit Ghosh, Atul Mishra, Suman (Guide) and five HAP.